Serving Metropolitan Detroit Since 1944

Report: Nearly a Quarter of MI Republican Lawmakers are Election Deniers States United Democracy Center report identifies 31 state legislators as election deniers

MICHIGAN – A new report released by States United Democracy Center has classified 31 Republican lawmakers, 43 percent of the Republican caucus in the Michigan Legislature, as election deniers. In response, Sam Inglot, executive director of Progress Michigan, issued the following statement:

"Michigan's elections have been proven time and time again to be safe, secure, and accurate. It's dangerous that nearly half of the Republican Caucus in the Michigan Legislature continue to deny this reality. It's clear that this is a deliberate attempt to sow distrust and division for political gain.

"Michiganders have repeatedly chosen to expand access to the ballot while Republican lawmakers continue to spread unfounded and debunked conspiracy theories as an excuse to restrict voting freedoms and silence voters they disagree with. Republican leadership should be condemning this and celebrating the success of our elections. Instead they welcome people and groups spreading this division into their circles, and in the case of Republican Leader Representative Matt Hall, they even join their ranks."

This report focused on the seven states that submitted false slates of Trump electors in 2020. States United Democracy Center classified someone as an election denier if they did any of the following:

Falsely claimed former President Trump won the 2020 election.

Spread lies or promoted conspiracies about the legitimacy of the 2020 presidential election or subsequent election cycles in public.

Refused to certify, or called on or pressured election officials to refuse to certify, the 2020 presidential election results or a race in subsequent elections based on meritless claims about election fraud, voter fraud, misinformation or lies.

Took action to undermine the integrity of the 2020 presidential election and/or subsequent election cycles.

Refused to concede a race, or publicly supported a candidate's refusal to concede a race, after the results were officially audited or stood up to multiple legal challenges.

In the House they identified:

Minority Leader Matt Hall (R-Richland Twp.) and Reps. Dale Zorn (R-Ida), Steve Carra (R-Three Rivers), Brad Paquette (R-Niles), Jamie Thompson (R-Brownstown Twp.), Rachelle Smit (R-Martin), Ann Bollin (R-Brighton), Robert Bezotte (R-Howell), Douglas Wozniak (R-Shelby Twp.), Andrew Beeler (R-Port Huron), Gina Johnsen (R-Lake Odessa), Angela Rigas (R-Caledonia), Luke Meerman (R-Coopersville), Bryan Posthumus (R-Cannon Twp.), Pat Outman (R-Six Lakes), Tom Kunse (R-Clare), Curt VanderWall (R-Ludington), John Roth (R-Interlochen), Ken Borton (R-Gaylord), Neil Friske (R-Charlevoix) and Gregory Markkanen (R-Hancock).

In the Senate they identified:

Joseph Bellino (R-Monroe), Jonathan Lindsey (R-Sturgis), Lana Theis (R-Brighton), Jim Runestad (R-White Lake), Dan Lauwers (R-Brockway), Kevin Daley (R-Lum) and Michele Hoitenga (R-Manton).

For more information visit


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/12/2024 09:13